Chief Surveyor General

It is our mission to provide Quality Services that ensure the Integrity of Surveyed Real Rights and to supply, maintain and provide access to Spatially Related Information for the People of our Country.

Structure Functions Data Projects Client Profile Contact Us
Search Papers Press Office Legal Info Links Fees


What is a Region?

Regions are the spatial demarcation of provinces into spatial areas that are used for numbering of land parcels in the Surveyor-General offices. There is a major region and minor regions (which fall within major regions). The major and minor regions have codes and names. The codes are used as part of the key in the spatial data.

Major Region

A major region is a "registration division" in the following provinces:

Examples: IQ, JQ, JS

A major region is an "administrative district" in the following provinces:

  • Western Cape
  • Eastern Cape
  • Northern Cape
  • Free State

Examples: Cape, Caledon, Bloemfontein

Minor Region

A minor region can be a "township or holding" where the numbering of the township or holdings and its extensions are all consecutive under the name of the township or holding. Townships or holdings occur in the following provinces:

  • Kwazulu-Natal
  • Gauteng
  • Mpumalanga
  • North West
  • Northern Province
  • Free State

Examples: Eldorado Agricultural Holdings, Everest Heights

A minor region can also be an "allotment area" where an urban area is demarcated with consecutively numbered erven. Such an Allotment Area can include portions of farm land which have urban designations (Erf). An Allotment Area can also include different townships. The numbering of the erven in such townships will relate to the numbering of the Allotment Area. Allotment areas occur in the following provinces:

  • Western Cape
  • Eastern Cape
  • Northern Cape

Examples: Kleinmond Allotment Area